Uploading files with Python API client: Does fileData have to be io.BufferedReader? Not working with io.BytesIO

I’m new to the Kaltura API and I’m working on a process to create a media entry/upload data to it. I’m using the Kaltura API client in Python, Python 3.6 with the most recent Kaltura client version.

TL;DR is there a way I can start with a bytes object and use that as the fileData without writing it to a file first just to open it up so I have a io.BufferedReader?

The longer story:

The files that I’m working with are being retrieved from another API as bytes. I’m not reading them from a file. Therefore, what I tried to do to in order to use it in uploadToken.upload was create an io.BytesIO object and passing that in place of the fileData (where it would normally be an io.BufferedReader). Here is a code snippet (token is already created here):

file_io = BytesIO(file_bytes)
result = client.uploadToken.upload(token.id, file_io, False, True, -1)

This produces the following traceback:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "[redacted]/.venv/lib/python3.6/site-packages/KalturaClient/Client.py", line 324, in parsePostResult
    resultXml = etree.fromstring(postResult)
  File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.6/lib/python3.6/xml/etree/ElementTree.py", line 1315, in XML
    return parser.close()
  File "<string>", line None
xml.etree.ElementTree.ParseError: no element found: line 1, column 0

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File [redacted], line 97, in [redacted]
    result = client.uploadToken.upload(token.id, file_io, False, True, -1)
  File "[redacted]/.venv/lib/python3.6/site-packages/KalturaClient/Plugins/Core.py", line 66597, in upload
    resultNode = self.client.doQueue()
  File "[redacted]/.venv/lib/python3.6/site-packages/KalturaClient/Client.py", line 382, in doQueue
    resultNode = self.parsePostResult(postResult)