Can kaltura-player-js be used for commercial purpose?

Hello,

I am new to Kaltura and I am interested in kaltura-player-js provided on GitHub (https://github.com/kaltura/kaltura-player-js).
This is provided in AGPL license, and I have question on this.
I couldn’t be sure about the license and couldn’t find similar topic here in forum, so I hope it’s ok to ask but here is my question.
Does this mean that in case I include this player on whatever commercial service that I would like to develop, I must publicly open all the source codes of my service?
Here I can see check mark on commercial use permissions, but I wasn’t sure. https://github.com/kaltura/kaltura-player-js/blob/master/LICENSE

Thank you for your help.

hi there @narengi1234 , welcome!
Yes, all of Kaltura’s projects are dual-licensed under AGPL v3, or as a commercial paid license as part Kaltura.com SaaS packages.

1 Like

Hi @ZoharBabin ! I understood that my code need to be publicly opened. Thank you so much for your answer.

Hi @ZoharBabin,

Sorry for the trouble, but may I ask you extra question on this matter?
I missed to include precondition of my issue, so I need to ask you same question on AGPL license again.

I have asked this same question to sales representative of Oracle and Kaltura but haven’t got response yet,
so I had to open case in this community.
Sorry for my poor English, but I hope you understand my question.

I am trying to develop commercial service using Oracle Contents Management(OCM) as headless CMS.
OCM is content management solution provided by Oracle to manage documents or videos (it includes content preview and editing functions).
It can be used as it is to access from GUI or can be used as headless CMS and we develop custom frontend.

It seems that Oracle have partnered with Kaltura in developing OCM’s video playing and video editing functions.
Yet, I need to access OCM from GUI in using Kaltura player which is not possible in this case that I use OCM as headless CMS,