Batch processes

Hi all,

I am new to the Kaltura platform and I am a bit puzzled on the way batch processes work.

I would like to add a list of processes (something like audio extraction, subtitles creation, etc.) to run automatically whenever a user uploads a video. Unfortunately I couldn’t find specific documentation describing the process.

Can anyone share the related documentation or briefly explain the procedure?

Thanks a lot!

Hello @Fasteno,

I’m afraid there’s no elaborate documentation on creating additional batch workers but as a starting point, take a look at an existing worker. For example, consider KAsyncExtractMedia. The code is under /opt/kaltura/app/batch/batches/ExtractMedia (and its source repo is here: https://github.com/kaltura/server/tree/Orion-15.20.0/batch/batches/ExtractMedia).

So, if you wish to create a new batch worker, you will need to create a directory under batch/batches/$WORKER_NAME and, at a bare minimum, you will need to create the parallel of:

• batch/batches/ExtractMedia/KAsyncExtractMedia.class.php
  • batch/batches/ExtractMedia/KAsyncExtractMediaExe.php

The workers that are meant to be run by the batch scheduler are configured in /opt/kaltura/app/configurations/batch/batch.ini

For KAsyncExtractMedia, we have the directive that determines how many workers should be allowed to run concurrently (per node):

enabledWorkers.KAsyncExtractMedia

and then a section with the needed directives:

[KAsyncExtractMedia : JobHandlerWorker]
id                                                  = 60
friendlyName                                        = Extract Media
type                                                = KAsyncExtractMedia
scriptPath                                          = batches/ExtractMedia/KAsyncExtractMediaExe.php
params.mediaInfoCmd=/opt/kaltura/bin/mediainfo
params.ffprobeCmd                                   = /opt/kaltura/bin/ffprobe
params.ffmpegCmd                                    = /opt/kaltura/bin/ffmpeg