What is not free?

Hello Kaltura expert,

I am a new user to Kaltura, and a dumb question, it seems Kaltura is open source and everyone could install and we can get support from this forum. So, wondering if I install Kaltura using my own hardware, do I need to pay any fee? And wondering what are the services which has cost (if I host Kaltura service/videos by my own hardware)?

thanks in advance,
Lin

The answer to your first question is no, the open source is absolutely free.
If you want to use Kaltura SaaS solution you need to pay.

Thanks oferc1,

If I want to host by myself (not SaaS), and if I met with any technical issues, do I need to pay service fee? Or if it is free, is there a channel I can pay fee to get better service if I host video and Kaltura service by myself?

regards,
Lin

You don’t have to pay kaltura.
If you need technical services you can access me :smile: . I’m a consultant that works with Kaltura.

ofer@whitenblue.com
Ofer

PS,
Just to make it clear the Kaltura server is for free. Other products (like MediaSpace) are not for free.

Thanks Ofer,

You are so nice and love the environment here. For MediaSpace, do you mean the SaaS remote hosting?

regards,
Lin

For MediaSpace you can get it installed on your Server, but you need to pay for it

Thanks Ofer,

Is MediaSpace something beyond the open source part of Kaltura? Could you share some basic introductin on it? Thanks.

regards,
Lin

Hi Lin,
Yes, the KMS (Kaltura MediaSpace) is beyond the kaltura open source.
KMS is a video portal. You can read more about it here: http://corp.kaltura.com/Products/Video-Applications/Kaltura-Mediaspace-Video-Portal
and see its demo site: http://media.mediaspace.kaltura.com/

Hi Ofer,

MediaSpace sounds cool, two quick questions,

1. How it is priced? And is it open source so that I can customize by myself?